Thoughts on the wild, the weird, and the romantic from author Joy Nash

My Photo
Location: United States

Joy Nash is a USA Today Bestselling Author and RITA Award Finalist applauded by Booklist for her "tart wit, superbly crafted characters, and sexy, magic-steeped plots."

» Monday, October 26, 2009

Druids of Avalon - order of books

Since people have been asking about the Druids of Avalon books and characters, and how Celtic Fire fits in with the trilogy, I thought I'd post an extra note about it...

All the books are stand alone stories - no plot points are left hanging to be resolved in the next book in any of the stories. That said, if you read the books in order, you'll get to know the characters, many of whom appear in more than one book, more naturally.

Celtic Fire - Hero is Lucius, a Roman commander; heroine is Rhiannon, a Celt. This book introduces Owein, Rhiannon's younger brother and a Druid initiate, and Lucius's young son Marcus. CF was my first book, before I conceived the Druids of Avalon series. Though at the time, I thought Owein would be a great hero, so...

The Grail King - my first "official" Druids of Avalon book. The story takes place some 13 years after Celtic Fire. Owein is the hero, his heroine is Clara. Marcus, Lucius's son, is an important character in The Grail King. Rhys, a wandering Druid, is introduced for the first time, as is Breena, Marcus's young half-sister, the daughter of Lucius and Rhiannon.

note: Three "Between the Books" short stories on my website tell what's gone on with Owein in the years between Celtic Fire and The Grail King.

Deep Magic - Marcus's book. All the above characters show up in this book, along with Rhys's twin sister, Gwen, who is the heroine.

Silver Silence - Rhys and Breena's book. The reader gets glimpses of the other previous characters in the series at the beginning and end of the book.

Silver Silence cut scenes - check out my website for backstory scenes with Rhys and Breena, which because of overall length, ended up being cut from the final book.



Blogger Dina said...

thanks Joy for the info.

9:55 PM  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

Even if books are stand alones, I prefer to read them in the order they are written. It makes the characters richer and adds an extra element to the stories.

1:45 AM  
Blogger ann alba said...

I feel the same as Librarypat when I read a series out of order read about character from the other book It feels like I am missing something.
I think this story line is just what I.m looking for.

4:40 AM  
Blogger Violet said...

Great!!! Thank you so much for the explanation and thankfully all the books could be read independently, thats good news because where I live I would probably not get all the books in order :)

4:56 AM  
Blogger Carol L. said...

Thanks Joy,
I appreciate the info. It's always better to read them together though.
I love all the excerpts you have been posting.
Carol L.

8:30 AM  
Blogger Patricia K said...

I have been waiting for Silver Silence .can't wait to get it.
Druids always been interesting

10:54 PM  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

Thanks for the cut scenes. It must be so hard to leave out something you've put so much effort into.
At least we get to enjoy and appreciate them.

10:59 PM  
Blogger Linda Henderson said...

Thanks for the information. I always like to know the order in a series.

seriousreader at live dot com

1:45 PM  

Post a Comment

<< Home